2009 ALA Awards

Congratulations to the new Sibert winners recently announced. The Robert F. Sibert Award is awarded to the most distinguished informational book.

Congratulations to Kadir Nelson – We Are the Ship: The Story of Negro League Baseball(Hyperion/Jump at the Sun).

Congrats also to the Sibert honor recipients:
Barbara Kerley – What to Do About Alice? (Scholastic Press)

James M. Deem – Bodies from the Ice: Melting Glaciers and the Recovery of the
Past (Houghton Mifflin).

Quote for the day: Colors fade, temples crumble, empires fall, but wise words endure.
—-Edward Thorndike